## *I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* 2011 (FIRST) Regular Session

## **Resolution No. 6-31(COR)**

Introduced by:

Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr. v. c. pangelinan <u>V. Anthony Ada</u> T. C. Ada F. F. Blas, Jr. B. J.F. Cruz Chris M. Duenas Judith P. Guthertz, DPA Sam Mabini, PhD. T. R. Muña Barnes Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr. R. J. Respicio M. Silva Taijeron Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D. Aline A.Yamashita

Relative to commending the Guam Chamber of Commerce Committee of Guam Young Professionals on successfully completing its first year in the Guam Chamber of Commerce.

## 1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I* 2 *MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:*

3 WHEREAS, on January of 2010, the Guam Young Professionals became 4 an official standing committee of the Guam Chamber of Commerce with the 5 adoption of the Committee's By-laws by the Chamber Board; and

6 WHEREAS, the Guam Young Professionals is organized under the 7 umbrella of the Guam Chamber of Commerce and operates in a committee 8 structure under the direction of a steering committee; and

9 WHEREAS, the Guam Young Professionals, as an initiative of the Guam 10 Chamber of Commerce, strives to provide young, driven professionals with 11 the opportunity to connect with each other throughout the island, and to serve 12 as their voice; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Young Professionals also provides the opportunity to network and foster relationships with its members, employers and other special interest groups to promote maximum participation, to meet and interact with prominent business and philanthropic leaders, to develop professional skills and find career placement/advancement opportunities to service the community, and to gain leadership experience through committee and board involvement; and

20 WHEREAS, the Guam Young Professionals recognizes the economic 21 and social importance of engaging the island's young professionals in all

2

issues and opportunities impacting the community and region to lead the
 island of Guam into the future; and

WHEREAS, the purpose of the Guam Young Professionals is to engage,
energize and empower the young people of the island, carrying this out
through its three (3) subcommittees and its motto: Be Inspired; Be Influential;
Be Connected; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Young Professionals' newly elected members of
the 2011 Steering Committee Board include: Mr. Jay Rojas, Chairman; Ms. Rita
Jugo, Vice Chairperson; Ms. Erika Garrido, Secretary; and Ms. Gaby Bamba,
Treasurer; and

11 WHEREAS, the Guam Young Professionals will hold the "Guam Young 12 Professionals Event of the Year" on January 14, 2011, to recognize the first 13 "GYP of the Year", and the Committee's "Retiring Members" who have 14 reached the forty (40) year old benchmark; now, therefore, be it

15 **RESOLVED**, that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina'Trentai Unu Na* 16 *Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the 17 people of Guam, commend the Guam Young Professionals for recognizing the 18 importance of the role Guam's young people will play in the future of the 19 island, and fully supporting and providing opportunities for these 20 individuals; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on
Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and

3

that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. David P. Leddy, 1 2 President, Guam Chamber of Commerce; to Mr. David John, Chairman of the Board, Guam Chamber of Commerce; to Mr. Jay Rojas, Chairman, Guam 3 4 Young Professionals; to Ms. Rita Jugo, Vice-Chairperson, Guam Young Professionals; to Ms. Erika Garrido, Secretary, Guam Young Professionals; to 5 6 Ms. Gaby Bamba, Treasurer, Guam Young Professionals; to Patrick Bulaon, 7 Retiring Member, Guam Young Professionals; to Nacia Atalig, Retiring Member, Guam Young Professionals; to Steven Dierking, Retiring Member, 8 Guam Young Professionals; to Bryan Shintaku, Retiring Member, Guam 9 Young Professionals; to the Recipient of the 2010 "GYP of the Year"; and to 10 the Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, I Maga'lahen Guåhan. 11

## DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 14<sup>TH</sup> DAY OF JANUARY, 2011.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed. D Speaker

**RORY** J. RESPICIO Chairperson, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES